Monday, April 25, 2016

Review: Night Owls by Jenn Bennett


Title: Night Owls (The Anatomical Shape of a Heart - US title)
Author: Jenn Bennett
Publisher: Simon and Schuster (Aug 2015)

Feeling alive is always worth the risk. 
Meeting Jack on the Owl—San Francisco's night bus—turns Beatrix's world upside down. Jack is charming, wildly attractive...and possibly one of San Francisco's most notorious graffiti artists. 
But Jack is hiding a piece of himself. On midnight rides and city rooftops, Beatrix begins to see who this enigmatic boy really is.
This is one of those post-TFIOS contemporary YA novels that are so desperate to fill big shoes that John Green has left that it actually falls a little flat.

Don't get me wrong, here. I enjoyed this. I binge-read it in one evening. But I felt that while it had a hint of originality, the rest was, frankly, unmemorable.

It also fell into the same traps as TFIOS. The teens do not feel like teens. They are too world-weary and independent. The author also tries to make them quirky by giving them odd characteristics that served very little purpose in fleshing out the characters at the end of the day.

I know. I am being harsh. I don't usually write reviews like this.

If you want something shiny and new, give this a skip. But if you want a book that is written well, has a sweet romance and fun moments, then there is absolutely nothing wrong with Night Owls if you are willing to suspend your sense of reality for a while.

Fans of Everything, Everything and This Raging Light will enjoy this.

Friday, April 1, 2016

April 2016: TBR Pile Challenge

Happy April everyone!

So the awesome Tammy at Book Fairy's Haven and I have decided to buddy read some well-overdue books from our TBR piles this April. Because reading is more fun when you have someone to fangirl with, am I right?

We have pulled the following three titles:



And because we don't do things in moderation, we also hope to get to these too:

  • Snow Like Ashes
  • The Young Elites
  • Rose Society
If you want to join in the bookish chat, follow Tammy (@Tammy24_7) and myself (@UrbanisedGeek) on the Twitters!

What do you have lined up for April?